GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4131 ANSWERED ON FRIDAY THE 20TH MARCH, 2015 [PHALGUNA 29, 1936 (SAKA)]

ELECTORAL TRUST

QUESTION

4131. SHRI ANANTKUMAR HEGDE:

Will the Minister of CORPORATE AFFAIRS कारपोरेट कार्य मंत्री be pleased to state:

(a) whether certain companies operational in the country have established electoral trusts since implementation of the Companies Act, 2013;

(b) if so, the details thereof, company-wise;

(c) whether the said companies have provided funds to the political parties through these trusts; and

(d) if so, the details thereof, company-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF CORPORATE AFFAIRS

कारपोरेट कार्य मंत्री

(SHRI ARUN JAITLEY) (श्री अरुण जेटली)

(a) to (b):- As per information provided by the Central Board of Direct Taxes, certain business groups operational in the country have established Electoral Trust companies under the Electoral Trust Scheme, 2013. The details of approved Electoral Trust companies are given in the Annex.

(c) to (d):- Such information is not maintained by Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) or the Ministry of Corporate Affairs in a centralized manner.

* * * * * * * * *

Referred to in reply to parts (a) to (b) of reply to Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 4131 answered on 20.03.2015.

S.No.	Name of the Electoral	BUSINESS GROUP
	Trust	
1	Satya Electoral Trust	Bharti Group
2.	Pratinidhi Electoral Trust	DLF Group
3	People's Electoral Trust	Reliance Anil Dhirubhai
		Ambani Group
4	Progressive Electoral Trust	Tata Sons Ltd.
5	Janhit Electoral Trust	Sesa Sterlite Ltd.
6	Bajaj Electoral Trust	Bajaj Auto Holdings Pvt. Ltd.
7	Janpragati Electoral Trust	RPG GROUP
8	Paribartan Electoral Trust	M.P. Birla Group of Industries.
9	Samaj Electoral Trust	K.K. Birla Group of Industries.
	Association	
10	Bhartiya Socialist	No business group, (as informed
	Republican Electoral	by the Electoral Trust)
	Trust	
11	Triumph Electoral Trust	Murugappa Group
12	Swadeshi Electoral Trust	No business group (as informed by
		the Electoral Trust)
13	Gauri Welfare Association	Jain Irrigation Systems
	Electoral Trust	
14	Janta Nirvachak Electoral	Kotak Mahindra Group
	Trust	
15	Harmony Electoral Trust	Kalyani Group

* * * * * *